Weldwell Speciality Award
Sponsored by
Weldwell Speciality Pvt. Ltd., Mumbai

Weldwell Speciality award has been instituted from 2010 and is to be awarded during the inaugural function of the National Welding Seminars / International Congress / Conference of the Institute, for the “Best thesis in the field of Welding “Submitted for the award of Ph.D.” in any of the Indian Universities, Indian Institutes of Welding, Indian Institute of Science, National Institutes of Technology or any other Institute approved under UGC in the preceding year.


Evaluation Criteria

Candidates who have submitted their thesis during the preceding year and obtained their provisional certificate after clearing their thesis defence (viva voce) are eligible for the award. Those who submitted their thesis as specified but could not complete the defence or viva can apply for the award next year, provided they complete the defence or viva at the time of application.


Evaluation Procedure

Indian Institute of welding would invite nominations for this award. Call for the nomination will be sent to major Institutes, made available in the Institute website and published in IWJ.

A prescribed format will be available for sending the nomination. Guide(s) of the student and Head of the Institute/Department shall give an undertaking that this work is done under his/her guidance in the Department mentioned.

Copy of the thesis, provisional certificate and copies of the papers from the thesis shall accompany the application. Research should have been conducted primarily in the field of welding science and technology.

A panel of judges constituted by IIW Technical Committee would evaluate the thesis and choose the winner. Only original work carried out in one of the Indian Academic or Research Institutes would be considered for this award.

The winner (student) of the award will receive a cash prize of Rs.10,000.00. Both the student and Guide(s) will receive certificates.